The Soil and Water Conservation District was founded on May 14, 1946 and has been dedicated to helping citizens and land owners protect and preserve land and water resources in Scott County. We are driven to work directly with landowners and agencies:

  • to promote wise and sustainable use of our land and water resources
  • to educate and inform the public of these uses
  • to help solve problems within the district
  • to serve as a county-wide natural resource information and referral center

MISSION: Promote and support the conservation of natural resources in Scott County through partnerships, trusted relationships and excellent service.

FUNCTION: To take available technical, financial, and educational resources and focus and coordinate them so that they meet the needs of the local land user for conservation of soil, water, and related resources.


  • Chad Dexter – Chairperson
  • Christine Bolte – Vice-Chairperson
  • Richard Golinghorst – Treasurer
  • Joshua Witt – Co-Treasurer
  • Lora Schmidt


  • Larry Thompson
  • Al Werthmann
  • Kathy Henningsen


Jan McClurg, Secretary, Iowa Department of Agriculture Land Stewardship, [email protected]

Jennifer Turner, District Conservationist, Natural Resources Conservation Service, [email protected]

Leigh Calloway, Soil Conservationist, Natural Resources Conservation Service, [email protected]

Jillian Jespersen, Soil Conservation  Assistant, Scott County Soil & Water Conservation District, [email protected]

District Commissioners (left to right: Joshua Witt, Christine Bolte, Chad Dexter) Not pictured: Lora Schmidt, Richard Golinghorst